Scraps of Lace – Who and Why

I almost didn’t apply to blogging 101 because I always feel really conflicted when I try writing an introduction for myself. I like to believe I have some interesting things to say and then that nagging, not so quiet voice in my head, tries to convince me that anything worth saying has already been said better by someone else so my time would probably be better off spent reading.

See that started super depressing and awkward but seeing its how I feel and I’m trying out this whole “shitty first draft” idea – I’ll stick with it. So now that I’ve convinced you I’m a bit of a weirdo who talks to herself lets move on…

The Who (Not the band or the Doctor)

As you might have guessed my name is Lacey. I’m a 28 year old Canadian mother of two (if you count my dog, which I totally do). The human mom thing is kind of new; my daughter was born in April of this year.

I’m a self proclaimed geek/nerd – is there a word for that? Neek? Gerd?

Anyway my list of interests are kind of random so a pretty normal day for me consists of re watching the latest episode of The Walking Dead so I can write an in-depth analysis using my laptop which is covered in “think geek” stickers all the while drinking herbal tea from my beloved wonder woman mug. Somewhere in the back of my mind there is always either a knitting project I want to start or a Harry Potter fan fiction that demands to be written down and shown to no one. I accomplish all of this sporting a t-shirt usually depicting some sort of super hero logo or a personal favorite; a ninja cat who proclaims to be have a black belt in awesome.

Three more random facts:

I’m a dog person but I love all animals – cats included even through they make my eyes itch.

I grew up in a small fishing community on the coast of Newfoundland – a small island and the most easterly province in Canada.

I can’t dance – what’s the dancing equivalent to tone-deaf? Oh yeah, clumsy.

The Why

I started this blog as a way to share my perspective on the world and connect to similar minded people – as a new mom I spend a fair amount of time now at home and sometimes, well lets be honest, a lot of the time I feel disconnected from the outside world.

I would love for this blog to become a way for me to connect with other moms and dads, new and veteran, who share the same eclectic interests (that sounds a lot better then weird). Of course being a mom is just one part of who I am and I would welcome (love actually) the opportunity to connect with people from all walks of life.

Scraps of Lace, as the title implies, is intended to be a scrapbook look into my life. While I know the internet can certainly be a scary place full of trolls and bad information – it can also be a wonderful tool for learning and connecting to people around the world. I want to contribute to a global community of ideas – maybe that’s a bit ambitious for a first time blogger but a girl has to start somewhere.

Plus I don’t think I could handle a personal journal – I talk to myself too much already…

– Lacey

 

5 thoughts on “Scraps of Lace – Who and Why

  1. I don’t have kids, though I do work with them, but I am a geek/nerd and a former writer of Harry Potter fanfiction (I was a little obsessed with Sirius Black for a while). I also often have a little voice in my head saying that whatever I write has been said before, so why should I bother. I came on here to look at your photography 101 posts, but I’m going to follow you because I’m interested in what else you might have to say.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks – I appreciate it. Nice to meet a fellow geek on here. Sirius is amazing, I had hoped when JK was done with Harry she would make a prequel – I want to read what padfoot and prongs got up to in their Hogwarts days. Thanks again for following 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what your thinking! I really want to know

